Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Cricut Design Studio        (Topic#1556839)
lilirishlucy18
Tenant
lilirishlucy18

Does anyone know anything about the Cricut Design Studio? I have done some googling and it looks like it is a CD disc you put in your computer...and you can hook your computer up to the cricut? And that gives you access to ALL of the cartridges and what they have to offer? That cant be right...is it?

Tenant
In response to lilirishlucy18

I have design studio. Yes you do have access to see what is on all the cartridges. But you can only cut things off of carts that you physically have. Design Studio is great and I love mine. It is so easy to weld things, see layers better, resize and all. You can now use DS to group things together and weld (I'm just learning this one.)

There was a trial download available on the cricut.com website. It would only allow you to use the cartridges that came with your cricut. At the time I got mine the trial was only available for George and Plantain Schoolbook, not sure if that is the case now though. HTH

Edited by Pattycake92 on 04-14-11 11:08 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny
In response to Pattycake92

You can design with and look at all the cartridges, but you can only cut with those you own. But it's a great way to preview carts you're thinking of buying. I love it so much. It has most of the functionality of the Gypsy, except you do have to insert the carts into your Cricut to cut with them - the trade-off is that it's cheaper (suggested retail is like $90, but I got mine for $25, new, on Amazon), and that you get the whole screen of your computer to see what you're doing. I definitely recommend it.