Username Post: embossing newbie        (Topic#1579765)
amdoak 
New Kid On the Block

I am SUPER new to the whole concept of embossing. I read a couple of blogs and watched some videos on embossing 101. I purchased a heat tool from J's, a VersaMark ink pad in clear, and Ranger Embossing Powder in Holographic. I also have colored ink pad already.
I started playing around with the colored ink pad and the ranger embossing powder. But when I heat it (10 sec or so) all i can really tell is that the ink kinda gets brighter. When i hold the paper eye level, is there supposed to be some raised effect on the paper where I stamped and embossed? I think it maybe because of the color of the powder?...
Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I just feel like its a more expensive way of gluing and glittering some letters lol, but then again I'm totally new to this so I welcome all advice!

mrsdriver5
Diva
mrsdriver5
In response to amdoak

On these two pages I used Rangers Perfect Medium pens and the Ranger holographic powder to add glitz to the big white snowflakes & some branches. When I just now checked in my real album, I had to take the lo out of the protector to make sure it was embossed and not a sticker :>) It's raised and glittery-looking, but definitely not a sticker~ (The big ones right on the corners and along the border are 3-D stickers, but those more on the lo were printed, then embossed. I know it's hard to tell what's what on the screen. Come over to my house and I'll show you )

006 Snow Play By Mrsdriver5

007 Snow Play By Mrsdriver5

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 08-16-12 02:14 PM
In response to mrsdriver5

Mrsdriver - Where do you get the perfect medium pens? I don't even see them on the Ranger website, all I can find are reinkers and pads.

mrsdriver5
Diva
mrsdriver5
In response to stick

I got them either at J's or Mike's.