Username Post: Beginner!        (Topic#1492963)
New Kid On the Block

I want to start a scrapbook for my four years in high school. I have never done a scrapbook before, and I wanted to know what are the basic supplies that I will need to make a good scrapbook on tight budget. I need lots of adive on what size of album and stuff like that. thanks

Edited by madi-h-03 on 01-18-09 07:32 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

KatieJo
Mayor
KatieJo
In response to madi-h-03

The best place to go to start with is the "Getting Started" post way at the top of this Beginning Forum. There is an essentials list in that post that you should check out. It explains some basic supplies and what they do and shows pics of them too.

This should be the dirent link to that essentials list : http://www.scrapbook.com/articles/doc/3280/233 .html

I have to admit I don't have all of those things. For instance I've chosen not to own an exacto knife - because I'm a clutz and would rather keep all my fingers intact than be able to intricately cut paper out. I've found that a good scissors and some patience allows me to cut out paper well enough anyway. There might be a few things you decide you don't need too, but it is a great place to start looking.

As for advice on album size that is kind of personal preference. It depends really on how many photos and how much embellishing you want to do. The most common sizes are: 12 x 12", 8.5 x 11" and 8 x 8". I would suggest going with something in one of those sizes because they have paper in sizes to match them. Obviously the smaller they get the fewer photos you can easily squeeze onto them... but the quicker they generally get completed too... since you also don't have to embellish as much.

Edited by KatieJo on 01-18-09 08:47 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

KatieJo
Mayor
KatieJo
In response to KatieJo

On top of this I think I'll add products suggestions...