Username Post: Layout question please help!        (Topic#1567599)
mjhammersmith
Tenant
mjhammersmith

Hi!
I am new to scrapbooking and am self-taught. What is the "normal" way that people do layouts? Do you do a book with photographs and colors that match or "go with" the other pages in the book? Like using the paper kits and embellies where the entire "collection" is coordinated. Or, do you do a booklet with each page being a different layout? I see that the layouts in the gallery being only one layout, so I'm confused as to why only one is being shown. Did the artist(s) only do the one layout? Or are we being shown only one layout out of many that "go with" that particular one? This is what I'm thinking....I like to focus on one thing well, finish and go to the next project idea. I'm thinking a booklet that matches from page to page for myself, would bore me. By the 3rd page I'm going "okay, enough of this theme, color, feeling etc. On to the next project idea". What are your thoughts on this?

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny
In response to mjhammersmith

There are no rules. I rarely coordinate pages that face each other, much less the entire book. I have themed books and books about no specific theme, and as you'll see in the Hawaii album in my gallery, even that whole album across one very narrow theme of six days in Honolulu isn't very matchy and coordinated except in a couple two-page layouts.

I don't understand what you mean about the gallery, especially the part about "confused as to why only one is being shown". Not everyone goes to the effort of uploading every layout they do, or uploading every layout in a given album.

There are no rules. Do what you want. Anyone who would judge you negatively for that isn't worth listening to.

debby_westbrook
Queen
debby_westbrook
In response to aquabunny

I never scrapbook pictures or pages in order.... I just do what is fun for me for the day...

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to debby_westbrook