Username Post: contact wearers.....        (Topic#1582365)
TraciK
TraciK 
Governor
TraciK

I am getting my eyes checked in a couple of weeks and I think I am going to ask for contacts.

I am just wondering why brands have people had the best luck with or are they all the same?

What about change the them every day, every week, or the ones that last a month? Which kind is best?

Thanks for the help!!

Mulan05
Expert
Mulan05
In response to TraciK

I've been wearing contacts for the past 10 years - I have the kind you change every month. I'd have to say not all brands are the same - I personally like a brand called Air Optix which lets in more air/moisture then some other brands. However, one of my lenses is for an astigmatism which means it lets in less air/moisture than other brands to begin with. (An astigmatism lens is thicker than other lenses.) This is why I like the brand I use.

Before you get contacts, have your eyes checked for dryness issues. If your eyes are generally dry, contacts are not going to be comfortable to wear. My last recommendation is to make sure you get a trial pair of lenses first before deciding to stick with a particular brand.

kelseymel
Idol
kelseymel
In response to Mulan05

I've been wearing contacts for 20+ years.

I think Acuvue is the brand I've always worn, I have the Acuvue Oasys right now.

I've never had a single problem since the very first day I put them in.

kelseymel
Idol
kelseymel
In response to kelseymel

Oh, and I think I'm supposed to change them every two weeks, but I don't. Shhh, don't tell.

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 11-04-12 09:29 AM
In response to kelseymel