Username Post: Talking Herbs! :)        (Topic#1589597)
Kaylann
Pro
Kaylann

Hello! I just thought some herb lovers would find this post and we could talk herbs. I would like to converse with people and find out how they use herbs and for what cause...I just started my herb garden this year and I love it and I totally believe in herbs. I just got myself an aloe vera plant and I love nurturing it! Hopefully it'll grow into a huge aloe vera plant...

Edited by Kaylann on 07-24-13 12:03 PM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel
In response to Kaylann

I've always loved the natural treatments. Peppermint tea for indigestion, cucumber for cooling, lemon for antibacterial use around the kitchen. I use essential oils a lot too, like lavender for a good night's sleep, tea tree for infections, rosemary when I'm studying.

My brother gave me a wonderful book for Christmas all about using the plants all around us for therapeutic purposes, but I haven't tried any of them out yet except nettles for soup.

When I was a child, Mum used to rinse her hair in chamomile tea. I've never felt the same about drinking it since!

Are you keeping the aloe vera for sunburn?

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 07-24-13 12:19 PM
In response to RedSquirrel

Does eating them count? Even if you don't 'believe' in herbs, I think that tasty food makes you happier, which can only make you healthier.

I put some mint leaves and half a lime in my water bottle for today. Very refreshing! Possibly helping with my concentration as well.

The main medicinal thing I use 'herbs' for is that I take ginger capsules for motion sickness.

RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel
In response to stick

I think eating them counts. It's only a more dilute way of consuming the same properties.

Kaylann
Pro
Kaylann
In response to stick