Username Post: Question on printing photos        (Topic#1574233)
LarasMama
New Kid On the Block
LarasMama

Hi there! I'm new to scrapbooking, which has caused my old love of photography (took it through highschool with 35mm film camera) to be rekindle. I recently purchased a Canon XSi and looove it! But know I'm a bit lost as to what I should do with printing my photos.

I currently have an older hp printer. But I was wondering what the rest of you did to print your photos? Do you have a dedicated at home printer? Or do you take your images to be printed at Black's or other places like it?

photo_chick
Diva
photo_chick
In response to LarasMama

It's usually chaper to have photos printed at a lab. I like the instant gratification of printing at home, so I use an Epson R2880 because I'm picky and want as good as lab quality of I'm going to make a print.

Mother Goose
Diva
Mother Goose
In response to photo_chick

I agree with the Epson. Their ink is archival quality. Cost more than other inks, but well worth it. I have the Epson Stylus 1400 and love it.

photo_chick
Diva
photo_chick
In response to Mother Goose

Actually all of the Epson ink is not archival, only certain lines. And the paper you use will also affect how long the ink really lasts.

LarasMama
New Kid On the Block
LarasMama

Thanks ladies! I would have never thought something diy would be more expensive to do at home other than time-wise. Maybe I will take up Black's offer of the 500 prints+free camera.

photo_chick
Diva
photo_chick
In response to LarasMama

I'm finding many DIY things end up costing more these days than having someone else do it.