Page 9 of 12 
Username Post: Book of Me - Ideas and Inspiration!        (Topic#1374780)
Scrappetizer
Veteran
Scrappetizer
In response to ghall

I am new to scrapbooking - just started in February. I surf the internet a lot in order to learn what others are doing. When I first realized that people were scrapping about themselves, I was thrilled. Not so much because of my own needs and wants, but because it means that people (women) are creating visual memoirs that document our way of life from a first person point of view. While it isn't *entirely* new in the history of the world, it is new in the sense that we have access to much better tools that let us document ourselves and our families and at a volume that wasn't previously possible. People who scrap themselves are adding to the ongoing documentation of who we are, how we live, what we do, and how we think. I think this is a phenomenon that is much under rated. If someone uncovered our society a thousand years from now I hope the volume of BOMs recovered is far greater than any of those celebrity rag magazines! The picture of who we were would be so much better, don't you think?

ghall
ghall 
Diva
ghall
  • ghall on 05-07-09 07:21 AM
In response to Scrappetizer

I like your take on the historical aspect of the BOM. Actually, scrapbooking in general has a historical significance. I'm always mindful of that when I am cropping photos. Things in the background like cars or signs may not be significant to the photo, but they show future generations what life was like for us now.

TammyLin
Diva
TammyLin
In response to ghall

Never thought of it that way Gail...perhaps I won't cut so much out of the photo in the future.

ghall
ghall 
Diva
ghall
  • ghall on 05-08-09 10:21 AM
In response to TammyLin

You could be cutting away history! I like looking at old photos & seeing that old stuff. It shows what life was like back in the day...

BranDiva
New Kid On the Block
BranDiva
In response to ghall