Username Post: Stamps And Ink        (Topic#1449799)
dirrtydiesel
Guru
dirrtydiesel

I'm about to buy some stamps and inks but I have never used these before...
What do I need?
What colour inks should a beginner get?

I have chosen the journalling stamps but I'm stuck between the Distress Ink and the Ranger Ink Dadder's...

What do you experts use?

And is there anything else I need other than stamps and ink?

scrappercaz
Governor
scrappercaz
In response to dirrtydiesel

I haven't tried the dabbers but I would think they're a bit too wet and messy for the clear stamps, though not impossible. Also the Distress pads are particularly designed for using distressing techniques and are pretty slow drying. How about going for some smaller ink pads like the VersaMagic which are smaller, easy to handle etc and then you can get a few colours for variety. Colour choice is purely personal really - what colours do you use most? Black is a basic I guess but apart from that - whatever takes your fancy!
You might want to get a stamp cleaner. Some people say they're unnecessary as you can use alcohol-free baby wipes but other say that to really look after your stamps a cleaner is best. Oh and expect your stamps to stain! It usually happens but it isn't a problem, it just looks a bit unsightly.

Edited by scrappercaz on 01-25-08 02:32 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

Spacy Tracy
Mayor
Spacy Tracy
In response to scrappercaz