Username Post: Eyelet Question        (Topic#1451733)
Spacy Tracy
Mayor
Spacy Tracy

I've never used eyelets before... and I know you have to have a tool to use them. Would one of those little hammers set them or is there a specific something else?

TIA
Products Referenced in This Post:
Making Memories - Hammer (Discontinued)

christine3625
Resident
christine3625
In response to Spacy Tracy

i have the one MM and love it. the only down fall is that they are loud to use. i had the ones by friskars (that had the springs) and they were much louder! everytime i used them my BF and dogs would run and hide. the MM are still kind of loud but not as loud!

New Kid On the Block
In response to christine3625

I have the MM Hammer set and honestly HATE it. It's loud (I have two small children, one who's an infant) and maybe I'm just weak but it takes me several hits before I get it flattened.

I recently bought the PC Silent Setter and LOVE it. No noise. Ya, it takes strength to push down on the setter, but I find I'm using less effort to set the silent setter than I was using with the MM one.

*jesse*
Idol
*jesse*
In response to snowflake12

I have an eyelet setter... think it's MM. It's just a rod with a pokey thing on the end that goes through the end of the eyelet (it kinda looks like a flower), then you hit the setter with a hammer. Yes, it's loud, but if I remember correctly it was pretty cheap.

LaDiva
LaDiva 
Diva
LaDiva
In response to *jesse*

May I ask another question? I used my MM hammer for the first time a few weeks ago,,,,,My eyelets flattened alright!!!!So much so that I had no more *eye*!!!

Did I hammer too hard or could it be that my eyelets were cheap?? (bought them at the dollar store).

I have since then decided that I HATED eyelets LOL!

Thank you!

tinacome
Veteran
tinacome
In response to LaDiva

Personally I use the cropadile and won't go back to the silent setter and DEFINITELY not to the old hammer!
All it takes is a simple soft click and it's set.