Page 1 of 3 
Username Post: How to use clear stamps?        (Topic#1455511)
New Kid On the Block

Hi everyone!
I'm brand new to scrapbooking (as in - never made a single 'layout'), and I'm doing some online shopping to get started.
I found some beautiful swirly and alphabet clear stamps - but I can't tell how to use them.
Do you have to cut them apart?
Do I need to buy something to stick them on to use? - I've seen some clear blocks, but don't know what they're for. Will one block work for all the stamps?
And I guess another good question would be - is this a good purchase or should I look into something else (I've been reading up on the forums' lists of things people never use...)?
Any help and tips will be much appreciated - Jess

scraprabbit
Queen
scraprabbit
In response to jessa10

• jessa10 Said:
Hi everyone!
I'm brand new to scrapbooking (as in - never made a single 'layout'), and I'm doing some online shopping to get started.

Welcome!

I found some beautiful swirly and alphabet clear stamps - but I can't tell how to use them.
Do you have to cut them apart?

Nope! They come sandwiched between two clear sheets--you just peel them off, stick them on a block, and stamp away.

Do I need to buy something to stick them on to use? - I've seen some clear blocks, but don't know what they're for. Will one block work for all the stamps?

Yes, buy a clear block. You can get several sizes--I have one big one and a couple smaller ones. (If you're using a smaller stamp a smaller block will help you control it better.) They will stick over and over again--if they start losing stickiness (none of mine have yet) rinse them with water, let them dry, and then they'll stick to your block again. You can mix and match brands of stamps/blocks with no problem also.

And I guess another good question would be - is this a good purchase or should I look into something else (I've been reading up on the forums' lists of things people never use...)?