Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Complete Newbie        (Topic#1458173)
Prettypinkcali
Tenant
Prettypinkcali

Hello everyone! My name is Christin and I am completely new to this site...and scrapbooking as well. I have never scrapbooked before in my life and was given hundreds of dollars worth of 'starter' supplies for a gift from a friend who is a seasoned "pro." Some of the things I was given I do not even know how to use or what they are for...After I have cruised through the galleries I must say, I am not sure I can create anything even remotely close to resembeling the work everyone on here does. In short I am intimidated, I don't know where to start, or even how to go about it. I just wanted to introduce myself and hoped I could gain some insight on where to go from here with the huge mound of scrapbooking supplies on my dining room table!

Bbwjill
Resident
Bbwjill
In response to Prettypinkcali

I'm newish as well.. I mean I have been doing it for awhile but I still feel new.. as I"m still learning stuff.

My advice for whatever it is worth, is to start by scanning some of your favorite pics, doing a bit of fine tuning online.. red eye.. cropping, sizing...

Once you have an idea of a layout that you want to make you can then size your photos into the sizes you need to fit your layout. By scanning and printing out your photos if you screw them up your still ok, you have your originals safe!

The other thing I really like is books of layouts in sort of a step by step fashion.. there is one I have used and abused and it's called "cherrish". I just love this book!

The other thing I find really helpful is going to little layout classes that they hold at the local scrapbooking store. Very often you can modify the layouts you have learned to suit you own style and tastes.

Good luck with it all and I'm looking forward to seeing your work!

rwalker04
Expert
rwalker04
In response to Bbwjill