Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: New to sewing..        (Topic#1472437)
mOm23girls
Diva
mOm23girls

I just bought my first sewing machine. I am so excited on learning! I was wondering if any of you sewing queens can help me on something easy for beginners that I can start on?

Thanks!!

mOm23girls
Diva
mOm23girls
In response to mOm23girls

Bran
Bran 
Mayor
Bran
  • Bran on 07-22-08 03:02 PM

I am completely self taught sewer and the first project I ever sewed was a sun dress.

With that said. Have you ever sewed anything before??

WeeFaerie
Queen
WeeFaerie
In response to Bran

Aprons and pillows are super easy. They're a good place to start. Congrats on the new sewing machine!

GreenDragonLady
Expert
GreenDragonLady
In response to WeeFaerie

Congratulations! I am pretty much self-taught too. My 14 year old DD learned when she was about 8, so if she can, I think you can!

You can probably google some simple directions for no pattern pillows, aprons, curtains, etc.

mOm23girls
Diva
mOm23girls
In response to GreenDragonLady

Thanks girls! What are the basic things I need to get started with?

GreenDragonLady
Expert
GreenDragonLady

Fabric (obviously!), good scissors, sharp pins, good quality thread (don't get really cheap stuff because it can shred and break and make lots of lint). You'll probably want an extra package of bobbins for your machine so you can have some wound and ready to go. Extra needles for your machine (if you're just using woven cotton or cotton blend you can just use "universal needles" you won't need specialty ones). If you're going to be doing any hand sewing to finish things you will want some hand needles and maybe a thimble as well. Tape measure.

If you want to get into quilting or even making home dec you might want to get a cutting mat, rotary cutter and acrylic ruler. Makes cutting long straight cuts easy.

That's all I can think of right now!

Edited by 6PackScrapper on 07-17-09 09:40 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

riorabbit
Queen