Username Post: Basic Sewing Questions        (Topic#1482361)
JordanRadio
Diva
JordanRadio

Hey! I am extremely new to sewing. I know how to hand sew but don't have a sewing machine. I'm looking to get one but wondered what kind of machine I should get for just starting out without a lot of money. Any particular brands? I would like to make things like pillow covers, aprons, tea towels...ya know very simple stuff. Thanks!

GreenDragonLady
Expert
GreenDragonLady
In response to JordanRadio

The Janome Jem is a really good starter machine. It's relatively inexpensive, but it's good quality.

You can buy cheaper machines, but you'll probably be more frustrated in the long run.

The Brothers aren't too bad for the lesser expensive machines either. Just don't buy a Singer! The Singers back in the day were fine. The modern ones are mostly junk.

Just make sure to get a drop-in bobbin...they're easier to change and clean than the vertical bobbins.

Bran
Bran 
Mayor
Bran
  • Bran on 10-08-08 10:58 AM
In response to GreenDragonLady

I did a simple search for sewing machine reviews and here is what I found

http://www.consumersearch.com/www/house_and_home/se wing...

Of course singer and brother are the top rated.

I bought a Viking and love mine.

GreenDragonLady
Expert
GreenDragonLady
In response to Bran

I'm surprised at the Singer. I've heard many more negatives on the sewing boards I hang out on than positives.

JordanRadio
Diva
JordanRadio
In response to GreenDragonLady

Thanks so much! I'm going to check these out. I definitely did not realize how expensive they were! But maybe for Christmas.....Thanks again!

Bran
Bran 
Mayor
Bran
  • Bran on 10-08-08 01:56 PM

I won't know, I just read the reviews

Angie Lanigan
Resident
Angie Lanigan
In response to Bran

Think about looking for a used one, maybe?