Username Post: Eyelets and Brads        (Topic#1489407)
lhorses
New Kid On the Block
lhorses

Okay i'm old school. Ive been scrapbooking for 10 yrs + and have never used the eyelets or brads. need some advice on what to buy and where the cheapest is. I don't want to buy the wrong thing then have to turn around and get something different. Thanks for any ideas. Also any explainations on using them and what tools

shanbah
Idol
shanbah
In response to lhorses

Personally I like brads better because you don't have to have an eyelet setter. I reach for them far more often than for my eyelets.

Jamie Pope
Queen
Jamie Pope
In response to shanbah

I use both, just depends on the look I want. I have the Crop a dile or Big Bite to punch the holes and set my eyelets. That's the only tool (IMO) you need for eyelets.

j3Mel
j3Mel 
Idol
j3Mel
  • j3Mel on 12-18-08 07:57 AM
In response to Jamie Pope

I would go for a pack of multi colored basic brads first. I have lots of eyelets but don't use them much right now. I really want the big bite. Hoping to pick one up this weekend when we finish Christmas shopping since I have a coupon.

I use brads the most and have even picked up some that are open like the eyelets so you can run string or ribbon through them. I do like brads to hold down vellum. By far the easiest way to get it to stay in one place without worrying about something showing through the back side.

Vivian loves BLING
Deity
Vivian loves BLING
In response to shanbah

Plus with brads you only have to make a slit with a craft knife.

You can buy brads at office supply places. If you have embossing powders in various colors, you can use these to color your standard office brads these colors. Use some tool to hold the backs of the brad while you head up the head. Once the head is heated, dip into the embossing powder. Pull out and let cool before using.

dollscrap
Queen
dollscrap
In response to Vivian loves BLING