Username Post: Newbie! Help on first project please?        (Topic#1492463)
New Kid On the Block

Hi, everyone! I am extremely new at this so forgive me.
For my school, I have to do a huge project on whatever I want; it's mandatory. I decided to choose a project on scrapbooking! It started out with me wanting to learn more about my family history and I thought a great way to present this was through a scrapbook. Only problem is I don't know how to begin.
What tools do I absolutely need to begin? What are the best places for me to get supplies? Best brands?
What kind of font should I use? Colors? I'm planning to use a lot of pictures. I think I'm going to have much more text than a usual scrapbook; the page(s) is going to have a bio and represent the person. So how would I go about doing this without making the page look too cluttered? I also plan to have a family tree at the very end of the album, any recommended stencils for a tree or something? I think I'm leaning toward a vintage look, but I don't want it to be all warm colors like copper and browns-it won't represent everyone in this album. I'm planning to use a 12x12 album, what color/brand would you suggest?

Any help would be very much appreciated, thanks!

itsyscrapper
Expert
itsyscrapper
In response to elloitsjen

i made my own family tree for my heritage album. I tore out a trunk and branches from brown paper and then used tags as the leaves. Each tag has the person's name, dob, dod, and place of birth. As far as colors go, I used alot of different colors, but primarly muted colors for the really old photos. Like for my great grandpaw i used a soft grey color and my great grandmaw i used a muted yellow. i definitely looked for papers that reminded me of vintage wallpaper. Don't feel like your have to use the same color throughout the album. You can use different colors throughout the album but make it feel cohesive by using papers that have a vintage feel.