Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: stitching...        (Topic#1495505)
forever_and_always
Expert
forever_and_always

Alright, I want to attempt stitching in my layouts... but i have NO IDEA where to start! What should i buy? What do i need to know?

Any pros out there that can answer these questions? =] Any help is appreciated!

GMFTS
GMFTS 
Mayor
GMFTS
  • GMFTS on 02-11-09 12:26 PM
In response to forever_and_always

I'm not a pro but a scrapping friend told me about Cutter Bees rotary paper piercers... they are great and then I just use a regular embroidery needle and floss.
one tip: if you put a mouse pad under your paper when you run the piercer it will make just the right size holes.

Sandra Perdomo
Veteran
Sandra Perdomo
In response to GMFTS

I love the look of stiching but not the time the takes, so what i do is use my sewing machine you can get one of the small one is about $20 and have a few stiches

siameseplease
Angel
siameseplease
In response to GMFTS

The paper piercers are great. I own them and love them. However, they are not made to go through more than one piece of paper at a time. If you want to stitch through a couple of pieces, you can run the cutterbee across the top sheet, then go back over the holes with a paper piercer or needle til they are all the way through.

If you want an immediate, no money spent method, grab a ruler, your paper piercer, and a pencil. Lay the ruler down on the paper where you want the line to be. Move it over very slightly. Now, use a pencil and mark very lightly on the paper at even intervals (use the ruler as a guide to determine the intervals). Now move the ruler out of the way and use your paper piercer or needle to poke through your pencil holes. You can also just make the pencil marks free-hand if you don't want such a regimented or even look. I like stitching with embroidery floss as opposed to thread; it is thicker and shows up really well. Hope this helps!

forever_and_always
Expert
forever_and_always