Username Post: Present for a new scrapper        (Topic#1501469)
badmojo17
Veteran
badmojo17

So my Mother-in-law's birthday is coming up in a few weeks and she really wants to get into scrapbooking. She has bought some supplies, but it seems she is not sure where to start. I wanted to take her to a class but she is so busy, it's hard to find time! So I was thinking of getting her a kit or a good book to help give her some direction. Any suggestions?

johnsusan8
Diva
johnsusan8
In response to badmojo17

A kit with detailed directions would be nice. I picked up a few kits lately because they were cheap, but it just ended up to be a page or two of pp and some die cuts or ribbon and flowers with no directions or examples. I had to buy other stuff to make it look nice. If I was a beginner, it would have been useless. According to their idea, everytime I shop for paper and matching supplies, I'm making a kit!

DittoBabyGirl
Governor
DittoBabyGirl
In response to johnsusan8

How about a nice Scrappin Magazine and a gift card to her LSS or J's, M's?

Scatter
Guru
Scatter
In response to badmojo17

Don't forget the lifetime membership to scrapbook.com!!

MishW
MishW 
Veteran
MishW
  • MishW on 04-14-09 06:57 PM
In response to johnsusan8

I did that for my niece a couple of years ago. I got her a scrapbook, paper slicer, Glue Dots , and this book. It's a good book for someone just starting out.

nancyhyland
Idol
nancyhyland
In response to MishW

My two suggestions are if you want a class for her at a time that works best for her try the classes here offered by Big Picture Scrapbooking. Many are very reasonable and she can do some of the classes at any time that is convenient for her.

or what I give to all new scrapbookers is Cathy Zielske's books. Also another good one is the new Quick and Easy photo albums ( Simple Scrapbooks special issue mag) - a very simple introductory to advanced way to scrapbook!!

scrappycath
Queen
scrappycath
In response to nancyhyland