Username Post: Question on Brands Being Acid-Free/Archival-Quality        (Topic#1520591)
Mashkurable
Tenant
Mashkurable

Just a quick question: I bought some K&Company alphabet and baby embellishment stickers
(one even has LED lights!!!), Miss Elizabeth's Scrapbooking stickers and rub-ons, and a Martha Stewart Crafts scrapbooking album. I know these brands produce photo-safe, acid/lignin-free, and archival quality items, however the ones I purchased do not say photo-safe, acid or lignin-free, or archival quality. Does this mean that they are not safe to use since those terms aren't posted? Any suggestions on how to adhere them without spreading the acid/lignin/or whatever is on them to other items? Should I just spray the front and back of all the stickers and rub-ons? Thanks!

Edited by Mashkurable on 11-16-09 07:28 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

Gelidy Gelato
Diva
Gelidy Gelato
In response to Mashkurable

I am by no means an expert on the subject of acid/lignin-free/archival quality but I would like to add a few comments and I am very interested to see what others write.

First off I think it is very good that you are concerned about this. I used to "poo-poo" the whole idea of using good quality papers and ink. (Notice I said "good quality" I wasn't even shooting for archival.) Everything and anything was fair game to be glued onto one of my pages. Well it didn't take long (about 2 years) for things to start staining, seeping, discoloring, fading, falling off, etc.

Now I pay alot more attention to the things I use when scrapbooking, especially things that come in contact with photos, BUT if you are printing photos yourself they may not be as... for lack of a better word, as "strong" as you think. My home printed photos are not waterproof, scratch very easily and will fade in direct sunlight. So this begs the question "which are we really trying to protect from being contaminated?".

BEST