Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Tim Holtz stuff...Questions!        (Topic#1523729)
Smashley
Idol
Smashley

So I hear all these wonderful things about Tim's stuff, and now that I've watched some of his videos, I'm intrigued. I'm just not sure where to start! I really like stamping and embossing, so I would like to try some of his embossing powders. What is the difference between his distress inks and other inks? I know that the colors are supposed to just look worn and distressed, is that the only difference? What does everyone use them for other than actual stamping? And what is Distress stickles? I kind of don't understand how glitter glue can look distressed. TIA!

nallian
Expert
nallian
In response to Smashley

I have some of the stressed and non-stressed stickles and powders. The stressed seems to have more glitter "gunk" to it. In other words, the glitter is bigger. But I am no expert, someone else may be able to explain it better.

Smashley
Idol
Smashley
In response to nallian

But your name SAYS you're an expert... LOL!

CASBa
CASBa 
Governor
CASBa
  • CASBa on 12-28-09 12:19 PM
In response to nallian

The distress inks are water based so you can do some really cool effects with them. I would suggest watching some of his videos on the distress inks. I LOVE the distress ink and they are my first choice for inks unless I am going to be getting my project wet and I don't want the ink to run.

CASBa
CASBa 
Governor
CASBa
  • CASBa on 12-28-09 12:21 PM
In response to CASBa

I like the Tim Holtz embossing powder, but I like Zing powder the best. The distress powder has its place though. I think of all the products I would start with would be the distress ink and a blending tool. The alcohol inks are really cool too if you work with a lot of glass, plastic, or other non-porous materials.

Legomom
Expert
Legomom
In response to CASBa