Username Post: Which Ink?        (Topic#1524423)
kariyava
Pro
kariyava

I am a long-time scrapper but I am new to stamping. I purchased some acrylic stamps a little while ago and have been very disappointed with their performance. I finally figured out that I have been using them with the wrong type of ink -- water/dye based inks instead of solvant/pigment/chalk inks. Now that I know where the problem lies, I need to buy new inks!

That is where my question comes in. I am trying to decide between 3 types of inks and would love feedback on your personal experiences with them:

1. Colorbox Fluid Chalk Ink
2. Tsukineko Versamagic Chalk Ink
3. Tsukineko Brilliance Pigment Ink

Any help will be appreciated!

boysmom
Pro
boysmom
In response to kariyava

I use my acrylic with water/dye based inks and they come out great. I have not had much luck stamping with chalk inks - although I love them for other things. I have always had good luck with CTMH inks which is what I started with. More recently I bought some of the Nick Bantock ones sold here and they stamp even nicer although don't last so long.

Bxr-Linda
Mayor
Bxr-Linda
In response to boysmom

I'm trying to figure out the same thing. I basically thought ink was ink. Since I now have lots of acrylic stamps, I want whatever will work the best. It's confusing.

I don't think the cat eye inks you mentioned are solvent based.

There is information here with a "cheat sheet" for the different types of inks. I'm trying to find it now.

Here's another thread on the topic:
http://www.scrapbook.com/forums/showtopic.php?tid/15238...

The Nick Bantock inks are dye-based (water-based).

Bxr-Linda
Mayor
Bxr-Linda
In response to Bxr-Linda

Here's some info on inks that might be helpful:

http://www.scrapbook.com/tips/doc/32019/257.html

kariyava
Pro
kariyava
In response to Bxr-Linda