Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Help Please        (Topic#1532137)
SusieQScrapper
Resident
SusieQScrapper

I am a newbie and having a blast making my first book. Can any of you suggest what I can do to be able to make alphabet letters for titles? Do I need a die cut tool and which one is best for a new scrapbooker? Also which materials do you make the letters out of? paper? chipboard?

I hope my question doesn't seem dumb but I really don't know what the best thing is to do. I'm tired of stickers.

Sunnydi
Queen
Sunnydi
In response to SusieQScrapper

Electronic die cut machines are fabulous...that's what I now use for my titles. I own an Expressions and use Design Studio with it.

I'd suggest you do a lot of research before buying a machine though. There are several that hook directly up to your computer and you download svg files to your computer and cut away; others like the Slice or Cricut Expressions use image cartridges or 'cards'. The slice cuts up to 5" high...the Expressions up to 11.5".

You will get differing view on each machine depending on users perferences. I hate hate hate being at a computer so like the Expression machine as it uses cartridges. I have several friends who own one and we trade cartridges.

Google die cutting machines and you can do research. Also check out Youtube for videos on the different types.

Before my Expressions I used the old red Sizzix machine to manually cut letters out. I still use that thing for cutting material, foam, metal; to use in titles.

hotroding scrapbooker
Diva
hotroding scrapbooker

I never by alphabet letter stickers personally. It always seems you use up certain letters the first page and get stuck with letters that don't make any words or letter like X and Q that when will you ever use.

My scrapbooking attempts I used plain old scrapbook paper and a stencil. I traced the letters and then cut them out with an exacto knife.