Username Post: Fiskars Shape Cutter        (Topic#1539231)
Mo_Mamacita
New Kid On the Block
Mo_Mamacita

I hate my Fiskars Shape Cutter.
I tried using it for cutting circles (photos, cardstock, paper), and could not figure out how to use the thing correctly. I made a mess and in the end used scissors.

Any hints or tricks or was this not a good purchase?
Products Referenced in This Post:

rockmom
Governor
rockmom
In response to Mo_Mamacita

First makes sure the bottom of the template is down and not the top down. Next get the swivel blade going the correct direction, then use even pressure and that's all there is to it.

lylacfey
Resident
lylacfey
In response to rockmom

Go to Fiskars web site and watch the videos. The videos are a big help. I love my shape cutter but it took some practice. The videos were a huge help. There are some good ones on You Tube also. Now, I am a pro with that thing. I have several beautiful templates I use often.

dotfree
Guru
dotfree
In response to lylacfey

I have owned them for three or more years before I recently used them for the first time. I really liked how the shapes turned out.

debby_westbrook
Queen
debby_westbrook
In response to dotfree

Make sure the Word fiskars is facing up and not down. I have a cricut now, But I still love and use my fiskars shape cutter.

Tammy Sue
Expert
Tammy Sue
In response to debby_westbrook

It takes some practice before you get it right. And I still find that I have to hold the template down really tight (do make sure it's facing the right direction!) and go over the same spots again and again until I feel each piece portion of the paper "release". You will know what that means when you feel it.

Pastor Joyce
Tenant
Pastor Joyce
In response to Tammy Sue

There's a wee bit of a learning curve for using the Shape Cutter, but I absolutely love mine. Don't give up! You'll get the hang of it soon.

Anonymous 
  • Anonymous on 07-23-10 04:00 PM
In response to Pastor Joyce