Username Post: Beginner question about material and book making        (Topic#1541611)
KelyK 
New Kid On the Block
  • KelyK on 08-27-10 08:31 AM

Hi! I'm Kely, a 18 years old brazillian girl and I'm new at scrapbooking.

Actually, I read a lot about it and took a course in 8x8 albums on a local store, to make and give one for my boyfriend in our three years anniversary. The album is not ready yet, but I really liked all this and want make more!

I kinda choose the tools and things I will need (Cutter Bee Scissors, We R Memory Keepers Magnetic Mat, magnetic posts, the magnetic twist trimmer, fingertrip control Fiskars swivel Knife, and two pens), any suggestions or advice?

So, I'm a writer and have lots of texts. For my first project, I'm wondering about making a book to archive the best of my poetry, scrapbookin' style.

My question is about the material. The album I made in the course uses six 8x8' chipboards covered with patterned paper. I would like decorate the pages, and I won't use photos. And I would need more than six pages..

So I think chipboard is too.. "Too much" for this. I want something more 'delicate', but I don't know if I can use cardstock (is it too fragile? can I use patterned paper on it? and embellishments?), or if exists a thinner chipboard. And what about grungeboard?

Which one is better for my pupose?

I was looking into "4 x 7 Chipboard Album - Round Tab" by Doodlebug, but I think I wouldn't be able to cover it with paper, right? because I fell in love with "To love and Chrish" paper collection By Imaginisce, and the Basic White by Basic Gray and I would like to use them.

Sorry about my english, I understand well but don't know if I expressed myself correctly

lstory 
Mayor
In response to KelyK