Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Brads        (Topic#1547393)
nnhgiang1979
Resident
nnhgiang1979

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner who just tried to read everything about scrapbooking. I have especially focused on the stuff needed for a freshmen like me. One of the things I dont know how to use is the brad and I dont know what it is used for on a scrapbooking card either. Can anyone of you here show me?

Thank you.

I am from a non-English speaking country, but understanding the language is not a big problem. The point is I have never seen anyone do scrb (or use the brad) in the place where I live.

Edited by nnhgiang1979 on 11-23-10 08:56 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

Lamoo12
Governor
Lamoo12
In response to nnhgiang1979

hi!

brads are small metal paper piercing embellishments. you poke a small hole in the paper, push the pointy part through then bend the flaps back to hold it to the paper. (if you are looking at one this will make more sense)

they can be used for colorful embellishing like most of them on here:
Petting the bunny By Lamoo12

there is a red one holding the tag onto the paper too.

or, you can use them to hold vellum, ribbon, etc to the page without adhesive like this:
I dig (left) By Lamoo12

i buy them because they are a cheaper embellishment that goes with any type of LO.

hth!

madmatter
Diva
madmatter
In response to Lamoo12

Brads come in all sorts of sizes and colors as well as types (glitter, foil, velvet, patterned, etc.). I use them as flower centers alot as well as for decoration or as "adhesive" for vellum or journaling boxes.

They are cheap and easy to use ... very convenient items to have around

debby_westbrook
Queen
debby_westbrook
In response to madmatter

You can also buy the plain gold brads at a Dollar store and use nail polish to paint the brads any color you want.

meezerpleaser
Diva
meezerpleaser
In response to madmatter

I love using brads. I used them as a swirly decoration on this LO.

Frisky