Username Post: New to the Scrappin World! :)        (Topic#1547913)
TNgurl4eva
New Kid On the Block
TNgurl4eva

Hey guys! I'm Laura, & I'm new to the wonderful world of scrapbooking & card making! Both hobbies have caught my eye...I'm really enjoying both so far! I've been reading on these boards for a week or so now, & I decided I ought to join!

My problem right now is: I need to create a shopping list. I have a $500 budget for anything & everything I need for creating all of my crafts.
I've heard it's good to take it slow & not buy a bunch of suff at once, so that's probably how I'm going to do it - it just seems smart. Right now, I'm working on making a bunch of Christmas cards to send out to soldiers & family/friends.
So here come the questions...
1. What are the ESSENTIAL beginning products that YOU have found to be best? (brands too?)
2. What products should I prepare myself to purchase down the road?
3. What do you personally like to splurge on?
4. Lastly, any tips for a newbie?

Any & all answers are greatly appreciated! Thanks. & best wishes!

Edited by TNgurl4eva on 11-30-10 02:42 PM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

cindy312
Diva
cindy312
In response to TNgurl4eva

I definitely agree with the advice to buy basics. You NEED a a good quality trimmer (I like Fiskars), some adhesive (get a variety to see what you like best- it's very subjective), some patterned paper (buy a collection so it's easy to coordinate and comes with alphabets and other embellishments), and some neutral cardstock.

It's hard to know what you'll want to purchase down the road, which is exactly why you shouldn't buy it now. Everyone's style is different, so you'll naturally be drawn to different items than others might be. I'd recommend going through the gallery and finding layouts and cards that you LOVE and seeing what papers, tools, etc. the artists used to create them. There's your wish list!

Good luck and welcome!
Cindy

brookeblogs
Veteran
brookeblogs
In response to cindy312