Username Post: Die-Cut / Embossing Machines        (Topic#1551205)
bwasek
bwasek 
Expert
bwasek

Hello,
I've been scrapbooking special occasions for 15 years now. I'm just starting to look into all the cool new ways to embellish the pages. Typically I just use all sorts of card stock, stickers, and pre-cut dies, nothing fancy. After looking at blogs, galleries, and forum I've decided it's time to improve my hobby. I'm looking to buy one of the many die-cut machines and would also like it to do embossing (even though I'm not sure I understand what that means). The suppliers’ websites are not very helpful at explaining the product. I'm unclear, with certain machine do you have to use a die you have and simply make a copy? Then with the circuit I keep hearing about the cartilages, does it not do anything without one? What about hooking it up to a computer and using their software? My main concern is spending loads of money on a machine that won't do much without spending even more money for the accessories. Also if you like variety using the same lettering style over and over would get old. Any advice/knowledge would be great. I tried reading other forums, but they were way over my head!

Thanks,
Brandi

Edited by bwasek on 01-18-11 08:38 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

MrsAnnieS
Mayor
MrsAnnieS
In response to bwasek

Welcome to SB.com! This is a great place full of lots of helpful people and some amazing ideas!

I have the Sizzix Big Shot and the Cricut expression. And I love them both! The Big Shot die cuts and embosses pretty much any brand of die/embossing folder.

There are two types of embossing, wet and dry. Wet embossing is done with a heat gun, embossing powder and embossing ink. There are a few different ways to wet, you can use your stamps and stamp with the ink and then pour the powder and heat with your heat tool, or you can press the ink directly to the item you are embossing.