Username Post: How do I distress the edges of paper        (Topic#1551303)
clicketmomma
Veteran
clicketmomma

I see so many pages with the distressed edges of paper that is torn and curled, but I have NO IDEA how the heck to do this. I am relatively new to scrapbooking and do pretty simple designs, but I am ready to start learning more techniques and this is one I would really like to know. Thank You!

corrie fan
Diva
corrie fan
In response to clicketmomma

Hi there,

Some run the edge of scissors or a distressing tool of sorts.

I have seen dampening the edges with some water then curling the edges over a toothpick, etc.

Next to the forums tab above is a link to resources. Under tutorials I found this searching for distress. Some good ideas categorized up there.

Article on distressing

Have fun!

debby_westbrook
Queen
debby_westbrook
In response to corrie fan

I use the Tim Holtz paper distresser.
Products Referenced in This Post:

Edited by debby_westbrook on 01-19-11 05:12 PM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

New Kid On the Block
In response to debby_westbrook

ive tried several ways to distress paper my favorite is using a dstresser tool by tim holtz i love mine you can use it and add some nice ink ones too have fun play wit diferent things and ways till you find on you like that is what i did tere is really no wrong wayto scrap book:)

Tenant
In response to favreeeee

Or you can just use a pair of scissors, just use one of the blades and run it over your paper a couple of times in one direction to get a small distress of run the blade up and down to get a deeper distress. It's a nice way to see if you like the technique but it does have it's issues safety being number 1 XD and also it's difficult to distress edges with scissors.

Scrapworthy
Resident
Scrapworthy
In response to clicketmomma