Username Post: 100% new        (Topic#1558871)
PrincessNikki
New Kid On the Block
PrincessNikki

Hello. Very new to scrapbooking. I decided to start it on a whim. Everyone else my age is out drinking and partying, I want to do something actually worthwhile.
I looked through a book at a fabrics store for getting started but there are a few things that confuse me, as in the tools.

Adhesive - Is this better than a glue stick? Or are they both for the same purpose? Which adhesive is best? The roll-on kind or other?

Clear stamps - I saw a section of clear stamp sheets. Are you supposed to cut out the designs and glue them to wood blocks yourself? I am confused as to what the point of that is when you can just buy a rubber stamp?

Cut-out punches - How often to regular scrapbookers use cut-out punches? How useful are they? Which ones are the most used?

What is a die-cut? What is an eyelet?

Any answers or info would be extremely useful. I have been an artist for 12 years so I have a general idea of what to do, but some of the tools look so overwhelming, I have no idea what to make of them.

binkiemonstermom
Idol
binkiemonstermom
In response to PrincessNikki

First of all...your background as an artist will serve you well. Enjoy the process and get creative..there are no rules!!!!
To help answer your questions:
Adhesive- it is all of the above. Glue stick, wet glue, tape runners...it is all of the above. Everyone loves something different. A very popular one is the ATG one from Michaels. Hobby Lobby has a smaller version (sorry can't remember the name) that I like. Wet glue will crinkle paper sometimes so that is why others are so popular. I make my own glue dots (do a search on here...they are very cheap to make and work better IMO).