Username Post: Cardstock        (Topic#1563191)
New Kid On the Block

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole scrapbooking scene so I was wondering if anyone could help me out.
I'm wanting to make my own book with chipboard covers and I want to use a sturdy cardstock as the pages, but need to know what the best thickness/paper weight is to use. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kristina

Here Kitty
Mayor
Here Kitty
In response to madwithwonder

Are you making a mini album or a regular sized album? Will it be bound with rings or bound in a different way? I'm not sure I understand exactly how you're planning on making the album.

tinacome
Veteran
tinacome
In response to Here Kitty

I would like to know too...are you planning on having only cardstock for the pages? Will there be page protectors? I guess I need to know more about the actual album you're planning.

New Kid On the Block
In response to tinacome

I was planning on making a 12x12 inch album and trying to bind it with ribbon. I can find tutorials online on how to do it. Only if I don't succeed with the ribbon will I do rings.
And yes I was only wanting cardstock as the pages, no page protectors.
My plan is to kind of create a rough/plain book that I can decorate every inch of with sturdy pages to handle mutiple layers of more paper and photos.

tinacome
Veteran
tinacome

I'm not sure you'll be able to make a very sturdy album with cardstock and ribbon. If you punch holes in the cardstock, it's very easy to rip through from the binding material (ribbon or rings).

I don't mean to be a downer, but it's really disappointing when you work hard on something and it completely falls apart...I speak from experience! Why not just go with a regular album? If you want an unfinished look, maybe use a chipboard album and decorate it. It's lots sturdier.

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to tinacome

There are some very good adhesives out there, but the perfect one has not been invented yet.