Username Post: making envelopes        (Topic#1566821)
New Kid On the Block

Good morning,

I am a newbie to card making. This may sound like a stupid question? How do you make envelopes?

Ms_Pebbles
Diva
Ms_Pebbles
In response to curly40

You can get a MS scoring board...it has instructions with it for making allot of different size envelopes.

catzscrapper
Pro
catzscrapper
In response to curly40

I went here and printed the steps, there are several different styles of envie, so you can check them out and try what you like.
making envelopes

runzalot81
Mayor
runzalot81
In response to catzscrapper

I use a trimmer and a bone folder. I have a video on my blog. Choose the tab that says "my videos."

reneeann
Veteran
reneeann
In response to runzalot81

once you get the hang of it, it gets more fun,you can line them with matching paper that you used on the card. I actually made my first one by taking an old envelope apart and making a cardboard template, I used a ruler, my cutter and a scoring tool ,plus a bone folder. good luck.

SamScrap
Veteran
SamScrap
In response to reneeann

I also started by tearing one apart and using it at a template. Then I made my own templates from chipboard. That worked for years until I finally bought MS scoreboard. I love it. I love making boxes too.

Seaexplore
Governor
Seaexplore
In response to SamScrap

another vote for the martha board! It comes w/a cool tool thingie and measurements for all dofferent envies and boxes. TOTALLY worth it!

Resident
In response to Seaexplore

I love the Martha Stewart score board. Using it makes making envelopes easy. Tonight I'm going to try to make a box.

Tenant
In response to Sue-Z-Q

I hate making envelopes so I go down to my local dollar store and buy the excess envelopes they get from selling cheap greeting cards. They usually come really cheap and every colour of the rainbow. Just ask the teller.

scrappin-momma
Veteran
scrappin-momma
In response to Michelle Adams