Username Post: Mini books        (Topic#1568927)
New Kid On the Block

I am brand new to scrapbooking and I am interested mainly in making mini books with some of the Tim Holtz dies that I just purchased along with a Bigkick. This is my question, and I apologize ahead of time for sounding so dumb! I want to cut out chipboard for the minibook pages and use paper to cover the those pages. Do I adhere the paper to the chipboard before or after cutting out the shapes. My thought is that if I glue first, it will gum up the dies, but if I glue after, I'm not sure it will fit perfectly. Also, what kind of adhesive would be the best for this kind of thing. I want to start with the Baroque and Mini Baroque dies. Thanks SO much for any advice you can give this newbie!!

Luvmyfam
Governor
Luvmyfam
In response to artluver22

Welcome! You can adhere the pages either before or after you cut. I prefer to adhere mine after. After I do, I sand the edges down and then ink them up. This helps blend the paper to the chipboard, and will cover up any imperfections that might occur when applying the paper after the cuts are made. As for adhesive, I just use my ATG. I will touch up little spots with a glue pen.

Ms. Mom
Expert
Ms. Mom

I cut mine separately and then adhere them together. I too think the glue would gunk it up. I cut them separately when I use the dies at my LSS and they always fit together just fine. I usually ink or paint my edges. I can't really suggest any specific glue cause I use Beacons 3-in-1 and my ATG for everything. I don't know if there is a better adhesive for this type of project cause this works for me and I haven't tried anything else.

New Kid On the Block

Oh ladies... thank you so much! That has helped enormously!!

kelseymel
Idol
kelseymel

I was wondering the same thing, thanks for asking this question!

theellenbee
Pro
theellenbee

I use Mod Podge on minis and love that I can move and adjust until I get it perfect.

MrsAnnieS
Mayor
MrsAnnieS