Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Sizzix machines        (Topic#1568943)
dscrap1
New Kid On the Block
dscrap1

I have been scrapbooking for 17 years, so I am very practical with my supplies. I invested in a Sizzix machine ten years ago and have one font and several other dies for it. I don't use it much since I got a Cricut Exp. I have been wondering about embossing techniques and have considered getting a Big Shot and some embossing templates, but I have no idea what goes with which machine! There are several kinds of machines that emboss. I am looking for some advise about what to buy. Anyone out there that can help?

leslief
Idol
leslief
In response to dscrap1

I own the Cricut Expression, the Original Wizard Spellbinder, and the Big Shot (Well, actually, I just bought the SLICE today, but that's another story!) I really like the Big Shot for my card making because it doesn't just make die-cuts, it embosses them, too. It can use all the Spell binders (Except for the Grand ones) and the Nesties, Cuttlebug and Sizzix. There is a chart somewhere on this this site comparing them all. That's what I used before making my decision.
Have fun shopping!

siameseplease
Angel
siameseplease
In response to leslief

So, let me make sure I've got this right. You still have the original "big red"? That is, the original sizzix with the handle that you push down? No need to buy a new machine for embossing!!! The embossing folders fit just fine in that one. I emboss with mine all of the time. I also use spellbinders in mine. The only spellbinders I can't use are the Grand Nesties, and you need a Grand Calibur for those, anyway.

If you want some of the Bigz dies or the Tim Holtz dies, not all of them will fit, but for embossing, it works like a charm. I love mine!

You can find how to videos on youtube. It's easy peasy to emboss or use spellbinders in the big red.

SandraB.
Veteran
SandraB.
In response to siameseplease