Username Post: glue question        (Topic#1569225)
New Kid On the Block

Hi,

I am Tami and I am new to scrapbooking.

I am sure I will have many questions but for now, I am very worried that I ruined my scrapbook with a hot glue gun.

I was wondering if it is okay for the book/photos if I use a glue gun to put on silk flowers, crystals and glass and small metal, plastic pieces. I will use TOMBOW Mono Multi Liquid Glue for the photos, letters, paper, etc so it is acid-free.

Had I ruined the acid free paper and my entire scrapbook by using a glue gun to glue fabric flowers, crystals, glass, etc?

Please let me know

Edited by sweet_scrap on 01-15-12 12:11 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

debby_westbrook
Queen
debby_westbrook
In response to sweet_scrap

Welcome here! I'm sorry I can't help you on your questions.
I use a tacky glue on my Flowers and beads, crystals and metals. Sometimes I will use Glue Dots. On photos and papers I use my ATG Gun.. I also use a glue pen for really small paper letters..

Here is a list of the items I use that work really good for me.

Edited by debby_westbrook on 01-15-12 05:53 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

New Kid On the Block
In response to debby_westbrook

Hi Debby, Thank you for your response. It is nice to meet you. hmm, I've had use hot glue gun for other projects (paper and silk flower related) I don't think the paper is acid-free. It has been over five years, and both glue and paper have not yellowed or appeared any aging. I wonder how long my scrapbook would last. I love it, just wasn't thinking, and now I'm really worried.

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean

I wouldn't worry since its held up for over 5 years.

But like Debby, I use the ATG for adhesive (really is cheapest to me in the long run and no mess) and I use glue dots for stubborn things and embellishments like flowers.

tld_92 
New Kid On the Block