Username Post: adhesives        (Topic#1569461)
New Kid On the Block

Just another newbie here. I'm putting together a scrapbook of my ancesters. Therefore, the pictures are old, on varying thickness of paper and odd shaped. What adhesive medium would work best and be safe for the old pictures? Some are from the early 1900s.

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny
In response to debbers55

I would suggest the ATG - it's safe and holds well even for heavy items - but if there's any chance you might want to remove the photos from the book for some reason, I would advise not using the ATG and instead using something like mounting squares or even just photo corners.

Kim222
Kim222 
Mayor
Kim222
In response to aquabunny

What a gret project!! I would have copies made and use those for scrapping ... just in case.
Unless, like suggested above, you use photo corners with the originals.

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to Kim222

Scan the pictures, print, and store the originals. I do that a lot. I have a big box I throw old original pictures in - they are stored in my computer and I can have them printed to scrap.

ATG is my first choice for photos but you cannot remove them once you put them down. It is permanent.

scrappnmom2il
Expert
scrappnmom2il
In response to debbers55

I would definitely make copies of those pictures and store them. Or photo corners and a good brand of protective sheet covering.

KatieJo
Mayor
KatieJo
In response to scrappnmom2il