Username Post: What kind of camera....        (Topic#1570913)
SQ Mandi
Angel
SQ Mandi

What kind of camera is everyone using?

I was using a Fujifilm Fine pix S2500HD camera, but hubby just bought me a Nikon D50 for my birthday.. OMG I am in love!

Any special lense recommendations? or settings? I am still learning how to use it and how all the different settings work but it is by far the best camera I have owned yet.

photo_chick
Diva
photo_chick
In response to SQ Mandi

A Nikon D50 or D5000? Because the D50 is pretty outdated and your Fuji pretty much stomps it in terms of ISO performance and range. Not meaning to be harsh or burst a bubble if it is the D50, but that's a really, really outdated body. In terms of specs (especially ISO range and performance) the Fuji you have is a "better" camera. Not that you can't make great images with the D50, but the much newer Fuji p&s actually has the advantage in many situations, like low light.

As far as lenses... what do you have? I'm guessing an 18-55 kit or something similar? If so, I'd stick with that until you see where it comes up short for you. Find out what shots you can't get that you want to get. That will give you a really good indication of what your next lens purchase should be. I can tell you what I'd buy but that's a lens that suits my shooting style and you have to find what suits your shooting style.

As far as what I shoot with, a Canon 50D, my backup DSLR is a Canon Rebel XT. And I shoot a lot of medium and large format film as well as the occasional roll of 35mm.

SQ Mandi
Angel
SQ Mandi
In response to photo_chick

Thanks for the response Danielle.