Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Help! I have to bake a (Lego?) cake ...        (Topic#1571609)
stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 03-06-12 09:34 AM

I'm a great cook, but I am so not a baker. Measuring things is just stressful, lol. Plus we rarely have desserts anyway and even more rarely anything as large as a cake, so I'm always at a loss when I need to make one. DH's birthday is coming up, he's asked for chocolate, of course. I'm thinking of just using a mix - any recs? I've heard good things about Barefoot Contessa mixes, but maybe Duncan Hines is just as good?

And I don't like canned frosting very much so I guess I'll have to make that somehow, but - that leads me to the next problem: the decorating! It's kind of a Lego-themed birthday (we'll be with our Lego-obsessed nephews that day, and I got DH a couple of the new Lego architectural models, he loves to build things like that). So I'm hoping to decorate it Lego-y somehow. I could just get some minifigures and bricks and stick them on top ... any cleverer ideas?

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny
In response to stick

Make the base a rectangle. Make eight cupcakes, cut off the curved top parts and put the bottoms upside down on the base cake. Frost in red, green, blue, or yellow.

You can also buy gummy Legos (the logical conclusion to telling kids for years not to put Legos in their mouth!). You could use a few of these on the tops of some additional frosted cupcakes.

Man, now I want a Lego party!

Edited by aquabunny on 03-06-12 10:07 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

Bxr-Linda
Mayor
Bxr-Linda
In response to aquabunny

I was going to say the same thing.

Make your own large LEGO. There are probably Lego-shaped cake pans out there too --but likely you don't want to buy one for one use?

As for frosting, buttercream frosting is super easy to make. I think there is a recipe on most powdered sugar bags. Powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, milk. It's very easy, and you really don't even need a recipe.

Bxr-Linda
Mayor