Username Post: First Attempt @ Cardmaking        (Topic#1572697)
GIGIGI30
Expert
GIGIGI30

This is my first attempt at making a card, obviously I messed up on the stamping ...What do you think? What would you do? What would you add? As for the inside, do you add a piece of pp with a sentiment, another stamp maybe?? Please share your constructive thoughts....It will help me to learn and create better things....Thanks!

Think Spring By GIGIGI30

Here Kitty
Mayor
Here Kitty
In response to GIGIGI30

When you're just starting out, sometimes it's easier to stamp on one item and then attach that to the card instead of trying to stamp on the card directly. That way, if you mess up, you can just stamp on another item instead of throwing away the card or having to cover it up.
For example, I usually do cards with layers. On this card, I stamped on the yellow paper, cut it to size and then adhered it to the rest of the card base.
Heat Embossed Lily of the Valley By Here Kitty

I think your card is cute! Great job It's really up to you if you want to decorate the inside. Many people do and there are those that don't - it depends on what you want to DO with the card. I usually mat with a different color inside and add a sentiment and/or design.
Sometimes it's just a tiny bit, sometimes it's a lot like on this card I stamped below:
Inside of my Doily card By Here Kitty

GIGIGI30
Expert
GIGIGI30
In response to Here Kitty

Awww Amy, thank you very much for you sweet comment!

Great info/suggestion there and btw, went to peek into your gallery and your cards are awesome!!

Here Kitty
Mayor
Here Kitty
In response to GIGIGI30

Thank you
Make sure you share your new creations so we can all see them!

CommaHolly
Angel
CommaHolly
In response to Here Kitty

I have a rule (that I often break, but whenever I break it, I regret it!)

NO STAMPING ON A FINISHED PIECE LOL

that means I stamp BEFORE I do all the work,,,,,so if it's messed up, I can try again,,,