Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Paper        (Topic#1574053)
HERider73
New Kid On the Block
HERider73

Hi, I am fairly new to scrapbooking and was unsure on what paper am I suppose to be using as by base. Is it the card stock or the lighter paper or both or either? Any advice would be great thank you.

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 04-23-12 09:17 AM
In response to HERider73

You can use whatever paper you want Lighter-weight papers are a little more delicate, of course, but if you're using page protectors in your albums this really isn't a concern.

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny
In response to stick

What stick said. I've used both. In general, there is nothing dictating what you're "supposed" to do - a lot of people, including myself, concern themselves with using acid-free materials, and I would say that's the closest thing to a hard-and-fast "rule", but no one will ban you or shun you if you don't, and even those of us who care exercise different levels of caution (I don't typically use make-it-acid-free spray on tickets and memorabilia, but others here wouldn't dream of not doing so.)

HERider73
New Kid On the Block
HERider73
In response to aquabunny

Thank you!

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to HERider73

I am guing fabric on cardstock for a background - and using healthy amounts of "Make it Acid Free".

Sometimes I use lightweight paper for base or background, sometimes heavier, sometimes patterned.

Just whatever works with your layout.

kellyshoaf
Idol
kellyshoaf
In response to Henri Jean

if you are going to do dimensional in your design, I think cardstock is definitely the way to go, but when I was a newbie, I only used lightweight pp. Happy scrapping!

Mia1979
Diva
Mia1979
In response to kellyshoaf

I love Bazzill textured cardstock. I use that as the base and then layer some patterned ppr on top. I also use patterned ppr as a base too.

olleharr
Mayor
olleharr
In response to Mia1979