Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Applying Lettering        (Topic#1577317)
ItsPronounced_Abear
Tenant
ItsPronounced_Abear

Ok, so this is probably a stupid gripe, but at least some of you should agree with me (or maybe have a better idea??)

I just had my first crop with 2 friends, one of which has been scrapbooking for many years. She owns a basic cricut and brought it with her; needless to say I was very excited since I've never used one before.

Well, my big complaint is that after you peel off the letters from the sticky mat, applying glue to them is so tedious. Now I realized why I just usually spend the money on sticker letters! I didn't ask what my friend does, but I ended up basically sticking the letter on my big glue stick and rubbing it around some (getting glue on my fingers of course) then just hoping I got enough on it and stick it down on my page.

Is there a better way to adhere cut out letters?? One that doesn't involve having to wash my hands so much? For the record, I usually use a split tape runner for photos and other elements.

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 06-06-12 09:13 AM
In response to ItsPronounced_Abear

Make your own sticker letters with a Xyron, you'll never regret this purchase.

ItsPronounced_Abear
Tenant
ItsPronounced_Abear
In response to stick

Hmm, those look interesting. How does it work? Can you make different fonts or colors with it?

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to stick

Here is the secret to gluing down cricket letters. Nothing works better.

Buy a roll of dry wall tape. I use the fairly tight woven but I don't think it matters. I use white but it comes in all colors. Cheap at Home Depot or Lowes. In 4 years I'm still on my first roll.

Leave the letters on the Cricut mat. The will be perfectly straight across the bottom and completely evenly spaced. Perfect. The trick is to get the letters on your paper the way they are on the mat.