Username Post: Best stamping ink?        (Topic#1578165)
*jesse*
Idol
*jesse*

I'm looking for recommendations for the best stamping ink for getting crisp images with clear stamps on cardstock. I'm just getting into stamps and I'm still figuring out what inks are for what.

TIA!

scarlet864
Veteran
scarlet864
In response to *jesse*

Here is a list of my favorite inks:

Versafine -- for very detailed stamps
Jenni Bowlin
Stampin Up
Memento
Staz On
Products Referenced in This Post:

kelseymel
Idol
kelseymel
In response to *jesse*

I like Memento and Versamark.

Chalk ink works really well with clear stamps, too.

I have found, though, that I despise clear stamps.

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 07-02-12 10:49 AM
In response to kelseymel

You may find this link helpful:
http://www.scrapbook.com/tips/doc/32019/209.html

kiyawinn
Guru
kiyawinn
In response to *jesse*

I like versamark for embossing...
I like StazOn for stamping over photos or on vellum or if you are going to colour in the stamps (it's permanent ink)
I like TH distress inks for just regular stamping (or sometimes for embossing)
You might want to google inks for a chart (or maybe there is one on here somewhere?) ETA: oops I think I replied at the same time as Stick
Different inks are made for different things....

Have fun with it! You will soon be hooked!
Alison

Edited by kiyawinn on 07-02-12 10:56 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 07-02-12 11:05 AM
In response to kiyawinn

Like kiyawinn I do like stamping with Distress, but if you want crisp you'll likely be happier with something like Memento or Staz On.

Also, generically speaking rubber will tend to give you a crisper and more detailed image than clear stamps. I find rubber to be easier to use than the clear ones as well.

traceyjean
Guru
traceyjean
In response to stick