Username Post: Travel Scrapbooks - Advice on adding memorabilia        (Topic#1579513)
ggep
ggep 
New Kid On the Block
ggep
  • ggep on 08-07-12 12:34 PM

Greetings all -

I'm completely new to scrapbooking, and I'm working on a book right now of pictures and memorabilia from a trip to Europe. Most of my scrapbooking will be about travel and trips, as I have compulsively saved tons of memorabilia from nearly all my trips (brochures, postcards, patches, stickers, maps, tickets, receipts, etc).

I'm having trouble figuring out the best way to approach paper memorabilia such as brochures and maps. Some brochures are double-sided or fold-out, and I'd like them to still be readable to someone looking at the scrapbook.

I'm working on a layout for pictures from a historic tower, for example. I have pictures chosen and cropped, and colors picked. The brochure for the tower is fantastic. It's beautifully colored, fold-out, with history and information everywhere. The simplest solution I've come up with to add it to the layout is to put it into a pocket. I even made an accordion pocket for it.

Do you have advice and examples of other ways to display these types of memorabilia? I don't want to always use a pocket.

-ggep

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 08-07-12 01:29 PM
In response to ggep

Welcome

Sometimes I scan things or take a photo and then print it out (often making it bigger or smaller than the original) so I can display both sides at once. I also print from websites a lot for brochure type information and stock photos. Pockets are a great idea to contain things like this, but I use page protectors and all my layouts are basically to be seen and not touched ... so they don't work for me. (There are certainly ways you can use page protectors and still keep pages interactive, it's just not something I like to do.)

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to stick