Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Distressing        (Topic#1580233)
Lunareclipse
Veteran
Lunareclipse

You'll have to forgive me, but I am a total newb at scrapbooking. Most posts I read I am completely lost because I have no clue what something is. So I am making a thread for all of my silly little questions so I am not making a ton of little, irritating threads or hijacking another person's thread for a newb question.

First question: What is distressing? What do I do and how does it look?

Lunareclipse
Veteran
Lunareclipse
In response to Lunareclipse

If there is a terminology that you think I should know, you can go ahead and add it before I ask what it is.

justowen
Governor
justowen

There are soooo many techniques that are considered to be 'distressing', including inking the edges of papers, tearing the edges of papers, rolling the edges of papers, sanding the edges of papers, scrunching up the paper and smoothing it back out to give a wrinkly look. There are lots more, and hopefully you will get lots of responses! I know I will check back to see who has posted something that I've not seen or have been wondering about!

Here is a video that shows several techniques.

http://www.scrapbook.com/videos/?m=view&v= 473&c...

Cindyckj
Pro
Cindyckj

I would say distressing to me is making something look worn and sometimes really old.

There are tools to help distress the edges of your papers like these. I love the tim holtz one and have the prima one but haven't had time to really experiment with all the things it does.

When I first started I just used an ordinary nail file. lol And whatever ink I had to add to the edges.

I like the him holtz distress inks too. A nice brown is always good to start with.

You might also google how to distress in scrapbook or something like that cause i'm sure there are videos done and many many other ways to distress. It really is alot of fun!

And you may want to check the video section here as well.