Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: To put or not to put a photo...        (Topic#1580611)
Apache_Rose
New Kid On the Block
Apache_Rose

Hello everyone!

Just a general question being new to the hobby. Does it defeat the purpose of scrap booking not to add a photo to the page? I ask because I see some layouts that look beautiful just as art.

Thoughts?????

madmatter
Diva
madmatter
In response to Apache_Rose

I've seen plenty of beautiful LOs with no picture, especially as title pages to an album

some people have art journals for just this reason ... they can create and try new techniques without worrying about using a picture

For me personally, scrapbooking is about preserving photographic memories, so the only pages I have with no photos are title pages

Apache_Rose
New Kid On the Block
Apache_Rose
In response to madmatter

Thank you for your feedback! I am still fairly new to the hobby so I like to get different viewpoints.
I am by no means artistic, but I love to scrap so far!!!!!

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny

• Apache_Rose Said:
Hello everyone!

Just a general question being new to the hobby. Does it defeat the purpose of scrap booking not to add a photo to the page? I ask because I see some layouts that look beautiful just as art.

Thoughts?????

Well, that's the thing - the "purpose of scrapbooking" is different for everyone. For me, the purpose of scrapbooking is preserving memories and telling stories; sometimes that means there's nothing but journaling or memorabilia on a page. And for some people, the purpose of scrapbooking is to make art. Scrapbooking isn't only about the photographs, and I would dare anyone to tell me that the photo-free layouts below defeat the purpose of memory-keeping and story-telling.

Hawaii 2010 - Page 2 - The Backstory By Aquabunny