Username Post: Advice on Starting a Blog?        (Topic#1582511)
kristinamp1206
New Kid On the Block
kristinamp1206

Hi! I'm new to the forums, but not new to scrapbooking, however...I am new to blogs. I would like to start a blog, any advice? What site(s) do you recommend? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!

Kristina from Upstate NY

kelseymel
Idol
kelseymel
In response to kristinamp1206

Welcome! Blogging is fun. Lots of work sometimes, but fun.

I've gotten to know a lot of great people in the year that I've been blogging. I use Blogger, it's very easy to use. Sometimes glitchy and frustrating, but it's free.

You'll have to figure out how often you want to blog, and what you want to say. Some people blog Monday thru Friday, some pick 2 or 3 days per week.

Some post only about scrapbooking/crafts and others mix in some personal stuff, too. The blogs I like the most have a good mix of the two, but one of the most important things is to take good quality photos!

There is a thread here where we share links to our blogs. It was started 2 years ago, so you may want to skip to the end!

Also, to get more followers you need to be a follower. Take the time to visit other blogs and comment on people's work. Challenge blogs are fun, too, if that's something you're interested in.

Good luck!

rebeccakeppel
Guru
rebeccakeppel
In response to kelseymel

I also use blogger. It is pretty user friendly if you've never used a blogging program. You dont need to know html, although you can edit the html if you do know it. there are lots of free templates you can use to jazz up your blog and blogger itself has plenty of free options too.

Diva
In response to rebeccakeppel

I am also thinking about a blog..too scared to do so!

kristinamp1206
New Kid On the Block
kristinamp1206
In response to kelseymel