Username Post: Paper        (Topic#1582517)
New Kid On the Block

With so many choices of paper different weights, single sided and double sided. Where do I start buildin for a supply of basics to have on hand as a beginner. I dont want to have to run to the store each time I start a page. I've received some stacks as gifts, mostly printed cardstock. Im lacking on solid colors. I was thinking that I should organize first by weight then color and get some coordinating solids or should I just get a stack of brights, and neutrals?

Here Kitty
Mayor
Here Kitty
In response to scrapday

It depends on what sorts of colors you use more of, but as a beginner, that can be hard to gauge. For me, I use a TON of white and kraft and a hefty amount of solid color cardstock. The good thing about stocking up on basics like solid color cardstock is that they don't go out of style. I've been using them for nearly 20 years and you can't say that about most of the patterned papers.

I love American Crafts cardstock. It's really sturdy and the colors are beautiful.

Diva
In response to Here Kitty

I like to buy the booklets of papers as they coordinate all together. You can also buy solid colors that are from the same brand. It makes it easier for me who has a problem coordinating patterned papers. It is my struggle!

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to bayamonesa1

I keep about 2,000 sheets of cardstock on hand and I don't care about the weight of it. Most is bazzil or something that feels like bazzil. I use a lot of reds and black so I keep a lot of those in hand.

I also keep 2,000-3,000 patterned papers on hand - I buy what I like. I do not buy paper packs because I waste most of them - just not my taste. I end up giving most of them away or donating to charity. I buy individually so I get only what I like.

That is how I built my stash - I bought what I liked and I love to coordinate the solids and patterns myself.

justartguy007
Expert
justartguy007
In response to Henri Jean