Username Post: Advice on scrapbooking & saving money        (Topic#1582619)
pifiifi
New Kid On the Block
pifiifi

Hi (:
I'm new to scrapbooking, and I want to use some materials I have collected over the past few years before I buy materials from scrapbooking stores (paper cuts, buttons, lace etc).

After looking through the list of "essential things" that scrapbookers will need, I have a few questions to ask. It would be really nice if you could help me (:

1. Do I need to buy an album or can I use an ordinary journal/notebook?
I have tons(!) of notebooks at home, and so many of them are pretty and unused. I would like to try scrapbooking on one of these notebooks before embarking on real scrapbook albums. Scrapbook materials are quite expensive where I come from, so I want to make use of what is at home before purchasing anything outside.

2. Do I need to use special adhesive or can I use normal double sided tape/patterned sticky tape?
After reading "20 secrets every scrapbooker should know", I am not sure about the adhesives. Is it a must to use special adhesive commonly sold at scrapbooking stores or can I simply use double sided tape that can be found in stationery stores? Will it affect my photos/memorabilia in the long run?

3. What type of pens can I use?
I have plenty of black-ink pens and colourful permanent markers that I've been using for my projects. Can I use these to scrapbook? I am well aware that the pens I use must be acid-free.

4. Space matters