Username Post: Need Help from Elementary Teachers        (Topic#1583075)
NMlady
NMlady 
Governor
NMlady

I have a job interview next week for a fourth grade position. I am very anxious because I have not taught in a public school in about 11 years. I have been working in a call center for two years and prior to that I taught in Catholic schools for several years.
The reason I am anxious is that I haven't interviewed for a teaching position in over 4 years. Since I haven’t taught in a public school in so long I am not familiar for with all the new teaching strategies and when they ask questions regarding them I get all flustered.
If you have suggestions on strategies I should read up on I would really appreciate it.
Thanks.

2xblessed
Queen
2xblessed
In response to NMlady

Haven't taught in 20+ years but, wanted to wish you good luck anyway!

NMlady
NMlady 
Governor
NMlady
In response to 2xblessed

Thank you blessed!

foltzy
foltzy 
Governor
foltzy
In response to NMlady

Good luck Joy. I can't remember anything from my interview 3 years ago. Of course it's preschool and not a public school either.

I'd do a search and see if you could find anything.

Seaexplore
Governor
Seaexplore
In response to foltzy

Look up and be familiar with the state standards. If your state is adopting the common core standards, be familiar with those as well.

When I was on an interview panel, we asked questions like "what is the most recent book you read? What was it about?" And "if you have a disruptive child in your class, what is your policy in dealing with them?" Be prepared to talk about classroom policies. Late work, homework, who you plan to interact with parents (this is a BIGGIE in my district). Are you involved in the community you will be teaching in? That sort of stuff.

Seaexplore
Governor
Seaexplore
In response to Seaexplore

Oh forgot- GOOD LUCK! Come back and tell us you nailed it!

corrie fan
Diva
corrie fan
In response to Seaexplore

No words of wisdom but best of luck.