Username Post: Cardstock/Paper question        (Topic#1584147)
New Kid On the Block

Hi, I'm new to scrapbooking (this year!) - this is my first post - and I'm looking to develop my first layout!

I am confused over cardstock and paper. Should the layout background be card? When I have searched on for "cardstock" it comes up with paper too (see link to product).

Should I be using actual card, or is paper ok?

Also many are labelled double sided, does this mean you can do a layout on both sides? Surely this damages the paper/card??

Thanks for the help!

nicolemartel
Idol
nicolemartel
In response to lynne.popley

If you're looking for a plain background, you probably want to stick with Cardstock, rather than patterned paper. I wouldn't recommend scrapping on both sides though. The cardstock isn't that strong. However, you don't HAVE to use cardstock. It depends on the look you are trying to achieve Some scrappers use all patterned paper and that's ok too! I use both. Usually when I want to include a lot of journaling, i'll use cardstock for my base so you can read it... some patterned papers make it hard to read the journaling.

binkiemonstermom
Idol
binkiemonstermom
In response to nicolemartel

I scrap using Stampin' Up cardstock, it is nice and thick which is important to me because I like to put a lot of embellishments on my pages, the Stampin' Up cardstock holds up nicely.
I also use patterned paper as well in scrapping, that's what makes it pop!!! Some of my favorite paper lines are October Afternoon, Echo Park, Stampin' Up, Simple Stories, Cosmo Cricket. There are many many more! I mix soild cardstock with pattern paper all the time.
It is a personal choice whether to scrap just on pattern paper or mixed. It is the joy of scrapbooking. It used to be hard for me to use a lot of patterns on a layout, I work on that all the time. My last couple of posts on my blog are using A LOT of pattern!!! You will find your style changes as well.

Bxr-Linda
Mayor
Bxr-Linda