Username Post: Why can't I ever cut straight lines and 90 degree angles?! {Newbie!}        (Topic#1584233)
Tenant

Ladies, I'm a newbie in need of some major help. I have the darndest time trying to cut straight edges, and this after trying four different trimmers! My latest is a high-fallutin' Fiskar's model that cost around $70. My financial situation is off-the-charts tight, but I was determined to solve the issue once and for all and spent Christmas gift funds on this nice model.

Alas, it cuts no straighter for me than my previous (much cheaper) models. I simply don't know what my problem is. I am trying to start a little Etsy card business, but if I can't find a fool-proof way to get four 90 degree angles, I'm sunk!

I do have a metal ruler and a blade, so in theory I could do it old-school, but I have health issues that cause my hands to shake most of the time - not the best deal when you have a razor blade in your hand!

I am so grateful to you for reading my post and offering any suggestions you have!

MANY, MANY THANKS!
Michelle

BTW, I should also state that I do realize that I have to keep the paper immobile while I use my rotary trimmer. This isn't a matter of my paper popping up a little toward the end of the cut or anything like that.

binkiemonstermom
Idol
binkiemonstermom
In response to ChelleKristine

Some trimmers have a little "lip" that the paper rests against. I always double check that the paper is against that lip correctly.
Maybe you can post the exact trimmer, and get some tips and tricks with it.

catzscrapper
Pro
catzscrapper
In response to binkiemonstermom

Hi and Welcome to SB.com!